Lv4 missions, a time-waster?

‘Docking request accepted.’

As my Noctis got dragged into station and put in my hanger, I looked up at my Maelstrom just sitting there next to it, scorch marks all along it from those darn Angel pirates. After starting the unloading process I reviewed what had happened today, and what to do differently next time.

The day had started normally, checking mail and contracts, catching up with what had happened while I was on planet doing chores. Turns out if had been a pretty quiet day, with nothing of interest occurring except that there were no Sansha incursions in highsec at the moment. One of my friends linked a contract for a fully fitted Revelation, and asked if I could pass it on to any capsuleers that may be interested in it. I glanced over it, seeing the price tag and wondering how people could justify spending that much on a ship. I passed it on to some people that may be interested anyway, not my problem how they spend their ISK.

With the news of no incursions being up I decided that my Maelstrom may like to see the outside of the station again, so I contacted my good friend who happens to be a Brutor tribe agent, and asked if there were any problems that I could help deal with. He jumped at the chance to get a massive problem out of the way, and asked if I could go to the neighbouring system and disrupt a forming group of Angel Cartel pirates by killing as many as I could, including the highest ranking leaders that I could find. I thought that this would be a quick mission that would earn me some quick ISK, and get rid of some boredom. Little did I know that these pirates had waves upon waves of reinforcements, 3-4 waves per area that I visited, 5 areas that I had to clear out. Around one and a half hours later I had found and killed the leader, and all I wanted to do was go to sleep from boredom. I docked up, rang the agent and told him the job was complete, and undocked the Noctis for the salvaging of the wrecks. The loot was decent, but not really worth the time taken to kill all the pirates.

As I bid farewell and goodnight to my fellow capsuleers I figured out what to differently next time. Don’t run lv4 missions solo until I have a better ship.

****

What do you guys think, are lv4 missions worth running in a Maelstrom, or would it be better to smash lv3’s with either the Maelstrom or a Hurricane until I get a Machariel for lv4’s?

Roam the skies,
Jon.

4 thoughts on “Lv4 missions, a time-waster?

  1. I’m not as familiar with Minmatar ships, or missions for that matter. Is it fair to say you don’t have maxed or close to maxed skills yet? I can do most missions in under two ticks (40 minutes) and some under one – this is pushing out a consistent 1100 DPS though.

    The mael is a fine ship though, and while not being quite capable of pumping out that kind of number without spending a lot of isk, it’s very close with the right fit. Tunable damage makes up for a lot though…

    As an aside, good friend of mine runs a mean Vargur and managed to blitz Angel Extravaganza in under 20. Reckons it’s faster than a Golem.

    In answer to your question – either way is fine, though probably better to stick to the L3s until your skills catch up, then do the step up – especially if your compensation skills aren’t quite up to the task yet and you have to compromise on your DPS to make it work.

    • For gunnery I have most skills at level 4, but no T2 guns yet. My ship is a cap-stable active tank assuming the AB isn’t running, which does mean that my damage application is quite compromised as I have three of my lows with cap rechargers instead of gyros or tracking enhancers.

      I have been looking at the Vargur, I have seen a couple in action and they are absolute beasts for clearing rats, however at the moment I feel that my training time is better spent on getting my core skills to level 5 than getting Minmatar BS V.

      I think my main problem is that I’m quite risk-adverse when it comes to PvE ships, and so I went for highly safe over damage, which now means that I don’t take it out because it takes too long to run a mission. Opps.

      Thanks for the reply,
      Jon.

  2. I hear you on that – but it’s a tradeoff. Speed will earn you a considerable amount such that the question then becomes do I want to salvage or run another mission? It’s a bit more risky, but once you know how to push your boat, cap stability is overrated.

    You will need a good method of controlling aggro so scrambling rats concentrate on you as opposed to your drones…. or to kill the frigates first. An MJD is a possible solution for an arty fit.

    In any event, if you’re not pushing 600 to 800 DPS+ (guns only), L4s become something of a problem. You won’t end up killing quickly enough and once numerous rats get to their optimal – well, ouch springs to mind. Especially true for missions that have amarr/blood raider etc types of rats. No damage no damage no damage, a little damage, holy #$% damage.

    Next question, are you running omni style resists? A couple of mission specific hardeners can make all the difference. If your resists vs their damage are 80% or above, each boost (and by extension the cap use) is much more valuable.

    If you’ve a logi (even t1) capable friend who can help you out (call in if needed), why not do some trialling and see how the various fits work. The Mael is a t1 ship and has a good return on insurance too.

    • The MJD is an option that I had not considered, I will look into this idea further. For the mission specific hardeners, yes I use them, I find the extra tank is certainly worth the 10-20 seconds needed to check and change the required hardeners. 🙂
      Part of me does want to get some C-Type resists, but they will be going on my incursion Machariel before my Maelstrom gets any such love.
      I do like the idea of having a logi friend help me out when I’m trying new fits actually, I’ll have to see who in my corp can help me with that.

      Roam the skies,
      Jon o7

Leave a reply, it is much appreciated :)

